Typepad: New post and control panel features

 

This is my final review of Typepad and I have made up my mind to end my trial period while still in the middle of it. But before I do that let me make a brief review of other things that I missed. This time I’m going to discuss about posting and some of its control panel features.

Posting. Posting can be done in three ways:

1. Direct posting through the site. Just like any other blog providers, this too is available in Typepad. In my case, I rarely use this one (even with Blogger or WordPress) as this is very basic, internet connection dependent (i.e. can’t be done offline) and lacks editing and formatting tools that are present in Microsoft Word or its equivalent like openoffice.org’s Write application.

2. Publishing through MS Office Word 2007. This is always my preferred way of posting ever since I acquired this software.

Yes, Typepad is among MS Word 2007s blog list.

Yes, Typepad is among MS Word 2007's blog list.

3. by using Typepad’s QuickPost feature. This isn’t much but may still come in handy especially if you want to immediately blog about an article in the web. All it takes to activate this is by saving a file from Typepad, install it, and restart the browser for it to take effect. Then once you spot anything of interest in the web, you can just hit your right-click button and select the QuickPost from the menu. You may either publish or draft your post from here.

Other control panel features. The control panel is as common as WordPress and there are only few things that may be new or at least worth noting.

Just so you know until when you can avail of the free trial period. Of course, this is also where you click to cancel your account - which I will today.

Shows an overview of your account.

Shows an overview of your account.

Typepad stats page has this dynamic graph. By dragging the horizontal slider enables one to see activities from a specific period.

You can be your own spam guard by banning IPs or specific words. Helpful if you want to filter some comments coming from non-English speaking visitors or spammers.

You can be your own spam guard by banning IPs or specific words. Helpful if you want to filter some comments coming from non-English speaking visitors or spammers.

Although the USD 44.55 discounted annual fee is fairly competitive enough, at least compared to other webhost wherein one blogger can freely include ads in his site. I think that having Typepad would be beneficial if a niche market is targeted which is isn’t my case right now. Lastly, I just wish that if ever the time comes for me to reconsider Typepad, its developers and administrators have already done improvement that will fully convince any blogger to avail of its service even if it isn’t free.

 ***

 Wordpress is making it hard for me to leave. While inserting images for this post, I discovered that I can actually place a border to each image. Likewise I also learned about what the Link to Image button is for – it makes the images clickable and will show its full size. 

As I get more blog time I get to appreciate WordPress more. Now, should I start considering WordPress.Org?  I read this week that it is the commercial WordPress and it allows ads. WordPress.Com is its non-commercial counterpart, thus the zero ads rule. Hmmm. Think, think, think.

 

Mood: 3/10 Honks!

Leave a Reply

