On familiar grounds


There are no menial jobs, just menial attitude.” – Francis Kong (March 15, 2009)

Globalization and its effect are caused in part by Intel’s product.” – J.

 

Yesterday, I ended my 3-day Career Continuation Workshop (CCW) session which is just one of the transition training provided by the company for those leaving, involuntarily. Unknown to most, especially to my new group, it was actually my second time to have such training. Last year I stopped attending after I applied for an internal position and eventually got accepted. This time it’s different. This time there’s no way but out. And with that realization, I became more serious and participative during the training despite the familiarity.

Another thing that’s unknown to some of my colleagues and co-employees, being retrenched for me is a familiar thing already. I left my previous company going through the same process but of course a whole lot different especially on the aspect of preparation. Back then, even if I have a hint that in a matter of days I’ll be retrenched, I was clueless of the exact date. The good thing about it though is that I was already hired at Intel but negotiated to report to a later date and was granted a 2-week allowance. Waiting for the D-day was like freefalling in the dark not knowing when impact will happen. I can’t exactly recall how the news was given, but everything happened so quickly. It started one sunny morning just when everyone was coming in to work. We were instructed to gather at the outdoor basketball court, listened to the brief announcement and were told how to go about the whole process. Just approximately two hours after, I was technically jobless. I can’t imagine how awful it would have been if it happens to me today (or last year). And this is where Intel made a difference…very significant difference. It hired DBM.

DBM which stands for Drake Beam and Morin, is an outplacement consulting and career transition services company with a very interesting history. It was founded on 1967 by two psychologists, Drake and Beam after they saw the need to help soldiers after the world war. They realized that since most of these soldiers have been taught about nothing but to fight (and probably to shoot and kill in the process), the moment the war ended they basically doesn’t have anything capable doing with the current skills they have. So in order for them to fit in to the post-war environment and make a successful transition, these two shrinks decided it was time to intervene. And the rest was history (Morin, came to partner with them later).

Last year, when I was identified as one of the affected employees, I actually had some reservations about this whole DBM training because I was thinking what training could I have had possibly missed at Intel? I’ve attended technical training, soft skills sessions, people management, time management and any other management-ending training…except maybe for the one starting with anger. Hahaha. That being said, I felt prepared enough to leave in three months time. I was wrong.

The DBM sessions opened my eyes and mind to a wider unexplored concept. It introduced me to things which I will surely regret had I stuck to my pride and stubborn self. I learned about things that could help me cope up with the outside world – a fitting term, having been “isolated” inside Intel for a decade or so (and to think that others spent more time).

DBM’s well-prepared, structured and interactive training presented me with so many questions. “What is an informed decision making process? What are my skills? Or do I have other potential skills still waiting to be discovered? How do I put these in my resume? What’s the employment trend now? What are my options? What is my net worth? How will I prepare for this change I’m facing and deal with the transition that follows it?” But thanks to our persevering, patient and professional trainers (and their staff) I already have my answers for each one. I’m quite sure that the remaining 176 days of DBM engagement, I’ll learn more.

Just before the CCW ended, our facilitator led the familiar retrenchment prayer. I silently prayed it last year but with the high hope that I’ll be able to still continue my Intel employment. It happened. Yesterday though was a different matter. With my head bowed down, I still sensed that among the other participants is someone with a lump in his/her throat, heavy with emotion as each word in the prayer sinks in. I was one of them.

 

 

Mood: 4/10 Honks!

Leave a Reply

