Marcuscanblog.com is now live

 

You may have noticed it already that either clicking on or typing the URL crisn.wordpress.com will now direct you to marcuscanblog.com. That’s because exactly seven days after I signed up for GoDaddy.com’s web hosting service, my domain marcuscanblog.com is now finally live.

I must admit that it wasn’t as easy as what WordPress and GoDaddy is trying to make it appear. But despite all the trouble, I don’t regret the encounter as I learned a lot from 1-week of waiting and tweaking game. For someone like me who’s a newbie when it comes to this stuff, it was everything but fun – well, at first. Most of the time it was quite frustrating to see server errors, alien database parameter settings and a useless website appearing in front of you. It was likewise a test of patience as I had to deal with the dragging response phase from the web host’s support agents.

Anyway, for the benefit of those wanting to have their own domain soon for identity’s sake, here’s some advice (more applicable if you’re planning to have GoDaddy as the web host):

  1. Make sure you’ve decided what blogging platform you’ll adapt. This may after all was where all my problems started. That’s because while I purely enjoyed WordPress, I tried having Blogger just so I can have nuffnang ads on my site. Then to personalize my nuffang profile I bought a domain via Blogger.

    Later on though, I find it hard to maintain both sites that I decided that it has just to be WordPress. Period. But the intention to still have my own domain through this blog provider eventually got me into signing up with GoDaddy.com as being one of WordPress’ compatible hosts.

  2. If you have the same case mentioned in # 1, then one of the things you have to do is to direct that domain’s IP to your new account. This IP will be sent to your email right after you have set up your GoDaddy account.
  3. Ignore any other instructions on WordPress.org’s Codex page as you’ll just be intimidated by a long list of steps which I discovered, after several trial and errors, will all be handled by GoDaddy anyway.
  4. Likewise, never mind downloading the WordPress application separately (to your PC) as this will just confuse you more. By accessing GoDaddys’ hosting control panel and clicking WordPress through the Your Application will direct you to a WordPress link and it will be installed from there.
  5. Install WordPress ONLY after things such as IIS version is set (I learned that WordPress is not compatible with version 6), domain ownership has been verified and correct IP address and nameservers have been set.
  6. Lastly, make sure that you record every original parameter setting just in case you need to go back to it. It is also worth making a list of domain, database usernames and passwords for obvious reasons.

There’s a cliché that says, “all’s well that ends well” and that maybe true indeed in this case. The problems I had encountered switching from WordPress.com to WordPress.org are nothing compared to the benefits of using this blogging platform. As experienced from my previous test of several other blog providers, WordPress is by far the only one that suits my blogging needs. Happy blogging days are here again. I guess…

 

***

 

Isn’t it amusing? The day my work ends is the day when my own domain went live. Isn’t this what they call opportunity? We’ll know.

 

 

 

Mood: 3/10 Honks! (believe it or not)

Leave a Reply

