DCP-150C ink replacement

 

On April 2008, we bought the Brother multi-printer DCP-150C and since then we enjoyed using it to print documents and pictures. Both printouts so far are satisfactory or have met my expectations especially coming from a cheaper printer compared to its counterparts in the market. In fact the pictures we printed (and framed) still have its vibrant colors as if it was just newly printed.

But just like everything else, this one too has its own flaws and one of it I think is its ink management system. Although the reason why I chose this multi-printer among the other brands is because of its separate color cartridge (black, yellow, cyan and magenta) just like the costly Canon printers, it seems that the software that comes with the package erroneously detects the right amount of ink per cartridge. And I can prove that.

A couple of weeks ago the printer prompted me that its black and magenta inks are already empty, and despite budget protest, the need to print something made me buy two new original OEM cartridges. My curiosity about accuracy of the ink status monitor’s report led me to pry and tinker with the old cartridges. Well, I was right. The magenta is approximately at its one-third level but the black is indeed really empty.

L-R: whole cartridge, open case, main ink container
L-R: whole cartridge, open case, main ink container

Due to our current austerity measures and the thought of throwing the old magenta away, I tried putting it back together and thankfully I was able to do a good job of closing it neatly with just some minor nicks on the cartridge’s body.

This is the printers ink cartridge compartment.
This is the printer’s ink cartridge compartment.

 

Seeing that there’s nothing electronic that will “tell” the system that it was opened, I decided to take a chance of putting the old magenta back, while I opened the newly purchased black ink’s package and then inserted both to their respective slots in the printer. Anxiously, I then turned on the multi-printer with my eye on the ink status monitor window wondering what will appear next. Surprise! The software detected a fresh and full magenta ink. I fooled it.

Magenta: fooled as full.
Magenta: fooled as full.

Though I’d like to be technical about the whole ink level sensing thing and spare some time investigating why it behaved that way, I choose this time to be a plain consumer (read: lazy) and just assume what went right and what made it work. And so I think that if there is indeed a flaw with the Brother’s ink management system, it is what made me insert just one fresh ink and yet having the “high-tech” machine thinking that it now has two new full inks. Gotcha Brother, I saved Php375 (USD7). Big deal, huh?

 

 

Mood: 3/10 Honks!


Leave a Reply

