WordPress.org gaga

 

The page is still bland and the subtitle says it all.
The page is still bland and the subtitle says it all.

I’m in a desperate situation right now with regards to getting my self-hosted WordPress blog up and running. The last time I mentioned that I got it, I realized soon enough that it isn’t working the way I expected it to be. I was only able to make the marcuscanblog.com domain work but not the whole WordPress.org admin page; I discovered my mistake when I was about to install a nuffnang ad and while I was following their instruction on how to post their banner, I noticed that I’m not in the right WordPress admin dashboard – it doesn’t have a script editor.

Since then I was busy submitting complaint tickets to GoDaddy and it wasn’t the promptness (it normally takes 24 hours) of the reply that bothers me but the quality of each reply – most of it were more like a clue rather than a direct solution instruction. Later on after figuring out what the agents from GoDaddy were talking about, I was able to post the nuffnang ads. One down, more to go.

Worse than GoDaddy’s is WordPress.org support forum’s response – which is what makes me really disappointed being a fan and advocate of WordPress.COM. For reasons that I cannot understand, the threads that I’ve started haven’t been answered no matter how I repost it. And in my desire to solve the problem on my own, I did everything that I thought can possibly fix the 500 – Internal Server Error, an error that came next and that has left me clueless for more than two weeks already.

 

 

 

This one appears every time I import my dot com xml file.

This one appears every time I import my dot com xml file.

So I guess it’s about time that I describe on my own blog what I’ve done so far.

The first time I subscribed and got my GoDaddy account, I had the WordPress 2.7.1 application installed automatically through their Hosting Connection page.

 

This is where one can automatically install the WordPress application.

This is where one can automatically install the WordPress application.

After that, however, just when I thought that all is well, I kept on encountering the 500 – Internal Server Error and I was thinking that it must have something to do with one of the scripts that may have been corrupted during the installation process. It was then that I decided to do the tedious manual installation as detailed in WordPress.org’s Codex page. Surprisingly, at one point of this manual process I got interested and had my first time to use an FTP client application – FileZilla (I discovered that this one is very easy to use and I highly recommend it to transfer bulk of files). 

 

An FTP client that is user-friendly.

An FTP client that is user-friendly.

 

My WordPress version 2.7.1 manual installation became a success…or so I think. Soon to my dismay though, I learned that it doesn’t solve the Internal Server Error which is now beginning to be a total nightmare. It still exists every time I import my WordPress.com XML file through my marcuscanblog.com admin page and no matter how I repeat the whole process, it just doesn’t make any favorable progress.

 

This case is becoming hopeless, and I had to switch back to my free URL – crisn.wordpress.com – but I’m not yet about to give up. However, until when I’d be able resolve it, I don’t have any clue. Hopefully, someone dropping by my site and happens to see this blog can give his piece of advice.

 

Mood: 5/10 Honks!

Leave a Reply

