A refrigerator and a frame

 

Now he can be called trusty.

Now he can be called trusty.

Today our electric bill was delivered and after seeing that our consumption surged significantly compared to last month’s, my wife and I had a brief but interesting discussion about it during another hearty lunch. She said that it must be our refrigerator that is contributing a lot to the increase. And so I asked why? “Because it is already ten years old”, she declared with a straight face.

I was taken aback by her reply not because of the way how she said it. It’s not even because I know that she knows as well that our kid’s nightly demand for airconditioning has more to do with it. And it’s not also because I sensed that what she’s really trying to say is, “let’s replace it” (women). So what was it then that got me to pause for a moment from swallowing the meat balls in my mouth? It’s because all of a sudden I realize that it is indeed already a ten year-old refrigerator. Once again, I lost track of time.

I can’t believe that it has been almost 10 years already that I’ve been shaking my head in disbelief how a “new” refrigerator can have its plastic coating peel off “so soon”. Yes, since we’ve had it, I regreted having bought it because just a year after we took it home, it already started showing signs of poor quality and that every time I get near it I swear I’d never buy the same brand. So today, the realization that it has actually reached 10 years somehow made me utter, “so tumagal din pala kahit papaano (somehow it reached quite a long service)”.

Now I’m hoping that it will serve us a bit longer especially now that it’s been months since I haven’t frequented opening it after I stopped buying and storing canned beers in it. Ti abi.

***

Another thing that surprised me for forgetting how long it had been with us is the 500-piece puzzle that my wife and I assembled even years before we got married. In fact, if there’s one thing that had witnessed several of our ups and downs we encountered back then, this might be it. Last two weeks ago, after more than 10 years of being wrapped in plastic and kept to collect dust behind our cabinet, my wife finally decided to have it framed along with other cross-stitch and puzzle projects.

Believe it or not, those were chiseled obliques when that puzzle got assembled.

Believe it or not, those were chiseled obliques when that puzzle got assembled.

Top: Puzzle set given by wifeys then colleague. Bottom: One of her many cross-stitch projects that finally got framed.

Top: Puzzle set given by wifey's then colleague. Bottom: One of her many cross-stitch projects that finally got framed.

Mood: 2/10 Honks!

Leave a Reply

