Dead but not gone

I was trying to make sense of what is happening right now with almost everyone glorifying Cory Aquino’s life. What I find sad about it all is it just doesn’t seem to sink in to me. No offense, but since then I just knew Cory as probably a good mother but a weak leader.

For the first time, yesterday while I was on my way to school I tuned in to an AM station (630) mainly to check on how the traffic is doing since I’ll be passing by somewhere near Manila. That time I already conditioned my mind that I’ll be in for a long drive so I was never in a hurry and readied myself to give the reason why I’m late in class – traffic.

Driving in moderate speed starting from Cavite, I was able to listen intently to the radio host say a lot of good things about Cory. And with her describing how people (students, employees) are getting out of their building just to meet the convoy that was carrying Cory’s coffin made me reflect what these people see in her that I don’t.

On TV, over radio, in the newspapers, on the streets and even on Twitter and facebook, the number of people pouring their support while she was still in the hospital and grief over her death says it all – they see Cory as very good person. She was so good that some people even called for her proclamation as a saint. Hmmm. But wether or not she deserves to be one, I now think that a multitude of people all over the nation and even abroad can’t be that wrong or just be influenced by the the media coverage (and social networking sites) to take this chance to wear or carry anything that’s yellow.

Now I guess, I just have to concede that I was wrong, disrespectful and insensitive. I just hope however that whatever inspirations and influences she had left to all these people who flocked the streets, braved the erratic rains and sun’s heat to see her for the last time won’t get buried along with her. And as I’ve mentioned on my recent blog, that hopefully this time we will sustain (can’t stress this word enough) the unity that most of us have once again shown and that we won’t put to waste the unselfish love, sacrifice and patriotism that both Cory and Ninoy have imparted to all of us. Both are now dead, but hopefully not gone. May they rest in peace.

***

 

Just barely a year ago, I wrote this a blog with this title: Heroes Wanted: Dead or Alive. It was my own tribute to the iamninoy.com campaign wherein I promised myself that this year I’ll make my vote count – on top of trying to be a good citizen of this country. Well, I already had myself registered for next year’s election. Next step (and the hardest) is to make an informed choice and not just rely on what is being shown on TV. As my professor in TSLEADER (he is by the way a loyal supporter and friend of the Aquinos and have stayed most of the time with Cory’s family during her last ordeal) have lectured before, what we actually need now in this country is adaptive change. According to him such change isn’t easy, but the way I see and understand it, it is the way to go if we want to move on for good. And so whoever can offer it, and show he’s sincere about it, he’ll get my vote.

 

 

Mood: 3/10 Honks (killing time while waiting for my articles for editorial abstracting to be downloaded)

Leave a Reply

